Sponsors:

Butcher block finish

Started by metalspinner, August 08, 2021, 03:49:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

metalspinner

Has anyone else discovered this finish?

I have a friend that swears by it and uses it as his "go to" finish for
Most things. 
I have used it once before on a very dark wood and really like how it went in and rubbed out. 
But this is my first try on maple. A little goes a long way! 

I do what the little voices in my wife's head tell me to do.

btulloh

Looks interesting. Where do it come from?
HM126

metalspinner

It's a German brand, but woodcraft has started carrying it. 

Here's a pic of the back of the can. 

btulloh

Thanks. I'll pick some up the next time I'm over near the local woodcraft. Looks like a real different formula. Worth a try. 

HM126

samandothers

Look forward to feedback.  Looking for something to try on some towel racks that can be applied after glue up.  Something water resistant that does not require sanding would seem to work well. 

scsmith42

I've been told that it is similar to Rubio Monocoat, but less expensive.
Peterson 10" WPF with 65' of track
Smith - Gallagher dedicated slabber
Tom's 3638D Baker band mill
and a mix of log handling heavy equipment.

VB-Milling

Quote from: metalspinner on August 08, 2021, 03:49:40 PM
Has anyone else discovered this finish?
I've been seeing this all over Youtube from the regular woodworking channels I follow.  Seems like really good stuff.
HM126

Larry

I haven't used the TopOil yet but I have used these similar Osmo finishes.  They do a good job.

I started using Livos maybe two years ago on turnings and wall art.  I recently started using them on my stools.  So far I think the best and easiest oil finish to apply on the market.  Its another one from Germany.

Only available from Livos USA

I digress a bit.  A lot of world class woodworkers used some really cheap finishes.  Sam Maloof comes quickly to mind.  Makes me wonder about the cost of some of these finishes.