iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Moisture on freshly cut lumber

Started by Grunex, November 30, 2015, 06:24:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Grunex

Recently I've ventured into using an Alaskan style slabber attachment on my saw as a means to use some of the timber from my land clearing business.  I'm new to milling and have so far managed to avoid some of the pitfalls that a lot of newcomers experience, but my question is this, I'm cutting logs that have been dropped in the woods and sun dried for about six months, and I know they are still "green" so as I stack the lumber for drying what are some layman's ways of telling if the slabs/lumber is dry enough for working for furniture purposes? I do not have a moisture tester and really don't have a ton of money to invest in tools and etc. so any help would be appreciated.  The slabs are a full 2" thick and the species is white oak, Ash, cherry, black walnut, and one log of butternut. thanks in advance.
www.grunexlandclearing.com
Maintaining America's Heartland one acre at a time.

Kbeitz

Moisture testers can be had cheap on E-bay...
Collector and builder of many things.
Love machine shop work
and Wood work shop work
And now a saw mill work

POSTON WIDEHEAD

I got my 2 prong moisture meter at Slowe's for less than 30 bucks. You can get more accurant ones for bigger bucks but the one I use gets me by.
The older I get I wish my body could Re-Gen.

Tom the Sawyer

Grunex,

A meter would be a good investment but probably not accurate for a year or so (not reliably accurate above 30% MC). 

A very simple method, if you have an accurate way to weigh the slabs, is to track the weight of the slab.  It will drop quickly at first, then slow down and eventually level off.  That is when it is as dry as it can get in the atmosphere where it is stored.  Likely to take a couple of years.