iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Wood Cutting Question

Started by lil171, November 08, 2018, 10:57:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lil171

Hi all. Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this, but thought it may fit here. Anyways, I have just one simple question regarding wood cutting. I am new to cutting wood for my own pleasure, but have been wondering how to best cut wood to the same length? I am jealous of everyone else having their wood all very close to the same length, while mine somehow vary quite a bit. I would just like my little wood pile to look nice and uniform, not as ugly as it does now. I do not feel like marking every piece I cut, and was hoping there was an easy answer. Thank you.

KEC

Don't think you should worry about perfect length wood as long as it fits in the stove.   I like some variety in length so I can chose a piece to burn to suit conditions i.e. short stuff during the day and longer at night. Cut hard to split stuff a little shorter if you split by hand. In time you'll get better at eye-balling it. In the meantime, cut an expendable stick (or 3 or 4). to lay on your logs the length that you want like a yard stick.

barbender

Some use the bar length to measure, it's a little tedious but it works. There's attachments that can go on your saw, the one replaces your bar nut with a fiberglass rod of the correct length. Another type uses a magnt to attach a rod to your bar. I haven't used either, I can see myself losing the magnet typen and getting sick of my saw being unwieldy with the bolt on one. One I just saw on here the other day, I can't remember whi posted it. It was just a wire tied around the handle, with a straight piece that added to the body of the saw equaled the wood length. It folded out of the way when not in use. Simple is good, I'm going to try that one next time I cut firewood👍
Too many irons in the fire

ButchC

I am with KEC, a little variety in the pile comes in handy.