iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Saw Cut Off at High Noon

Started by CX3, January 08, 2011, 12:09:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

CX3

I am going to co-sponsor a cut off at our local saw shop.  I have no experience with different classes...etc....of a saw cut off tournament.  The sawmill we sell to is going to donate some ties so that each contestant has the same wood to cut on.  I would like info on how to set this all up, what classes to have, basically any info would be great.  Also, I really would like to keep this a "wood cutter" and "logger" type fun day.  I would not be offended by someone showing up with a dirt bike motor on a bar, but would really like to see who really has the fastest work saw around.  Thanks for your help. 
John 3:16
You Better Believe It!

Cut4fun

Muffler classes pump gas it sounds like.

I used to do.

Top handle saws like 200T 338 2000 etc 0-40

then rear handle 0-40
0-50 51 or 49 3ci
0-60 or 65 4ci
0-80 or 81 5ci
0-100
100+

Then pipe gas saws same break down,

Then alky/nitro burners in stock appearing and hotsaws

Al_Smith

Well if the contestants are cutting ties like the railroad type, those are hardwood which pretty much eliminates race chain .No big deal though .

You'd be better off running over the blocks rather that hot start,saw on the ground or cold start .A lot safer for the less experianced .

Al_Smith

Oh I might add the pop don't get topped until the sawing is done .Do the sawing shoot the breeze and kick back later . 8)

CX3

Quote from: Al_Smith on January 08, 2011, 05:40:40 PM

You'd be better off running over the blocks rather that hot start,saw on the ground or cold start .A lot safer for the less experianced .

Al could you please explain this a little better for me.  Thanks.  And there will be no alcohol at this deal.  This will be a professionally organized event with hopefully a bunch of good ol boys who want to see who has the baddest saw.  Thanks.
John 3:16
You Better Believe It!

Cut4fun