iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Roundup on tree trunks

Started by cutterboy, April 28, 2012, 09:04:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cutterboy

Hi all. Does spraying roundup on the trunk of trees hurt the tree? I have trouble with vines on some of my trees.....poison ivy and other vines. I cut the vines with my chainsaw, but the next year little vines start back up the trees. I want to spray around the base of the trees and on the trunk. Will this hurt the trees?

Thanks, Cutter
To underestimate old men and old machines is the folly of youth. Frank C.

woodtroll

I would check the label but I do not think it will cause any problems on larger trees.
It can kill seedlings when sprayed on the buds and thin bark.

Ironwood

I am no application expert, but I do know many of the herbisides are "systemic" poisins, meaning they need to enter the plant via leaf or wound (on bark). I was just thinking about this yesterday as I have just resorted to a kind of Roundup in some areas. I did consider the bottom of one tree, HOWEVER it had an open wound and it would likely travel thru that, so I would assume if no wounds it should be ok, additonally most of these are NOT enviromental "toxins" and if dont not enter the plants system within a day or two, they are rendered fairly harmless. I personally would not use them on my property if they had residual toxic effect.

Ironwood

Ironwood
There is no scarcity of opportunity to make a living at what you love to do, there is only scarcity of resolve to make it happen.- Wayne Dyer

wesdor

The owner of Kelly Tree Farm in Clarence, Iowa instructed me to spray roundup on the grass around seedling trees.  He said that with practice you get good at not hitting the tree. I have been afraid to try it but plan to do so on some 5 yr od Swamp White Oak this spring.

I'm hoping that I can keep Roundup off the trunk and of course all leaves.

Ianab