iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

First Sawmill - Looking at Norwood MN26

Started by 50 Acre Jim, May 30, 2017, 07:42:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

50 Acre Jim

Hello all!  My name is Jim and I've never used a sawmill before but I live on 50 acres of heavily wooded land and I love building stuff. :-)  I've grown tired of buying lumber from Lowe's and feel that harvesting my own will be both satisfying as well as economical.   

After a month of looking for both new and used sawmills I've just about decided on the Norwood MN26.  Does anyone on this forum use one and if so, can you give me your opinion of the mill?  If this hobby goes the same road as all my other hobbies have gone I'll probably end up with an ample amount of options as well.  i.e. a planer at least and more likely a log moulder as well. 

Thank you in advance!

Go to work?  Probably Knott.  Because I cant.

derhntr

youtube reviews on the different mills. I spent over a year researching, and visiting mill owners before I decided to go Orange.
2006 Woodmizer LT40HDG28 with command control (I hate walking in sawdust)
US Army National Guard (RET) SFC

dboyt

Sounds like a perfect fit for a small sawmill.  The first question is what size trees are you looking at?  As long as most are 26" diameter and smaller, the LM26 should be a good fit.  If you occasionally run into bigger logs, you can trim them with a chain saw.  No matter what mill you get, you'll probably find yourself pushing the size limits.  My Norwood HD36 has certainly done well for me.  I'd recommend you get on the forum (you can get there from the web site) and see what the owners have to say and what kinds of issues they have.  When you budget for a mill, be sure to include extras like chain saws, flat bed truck, cant hooks, & safety gear.
Norwood MX34 Pro portable sawmill, 8N Ford, Lewis Winch

50 Acre Jim

Quote from: dboyt on May 30, 2017, 08:18:20 AM