iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

(2 questions in one thread) Blades & Deflection HF Sawmill

Started by Kingmt, September 23, 2015, 01:23:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kingmt

Using the stock blade I'm getting what I'd call deflection when cutting hard seasoned wood. I start at at 2 3/16" on board thickness & by the end of a 6' cut I'm at 2". I can actually see the blade bowing up in the middle. This is better then my other Blades tho which brings me to my other question.

I bought Marvel 3/4 pitch 1 1/4" x .042" Eagle Beak M42 for it. They are actually about 1 1/2" from the back of the blade to the cutting edge. They cut through just fine but walking as slow as I can go & the blade tightened as hard as I'm brave enough to torque on them the blade is still deflecting up through the log. Is this because the blade is to wide or is it just completely wrong for my saw? If I make wider guides will this stop it from deflecting?

I'm new to this so any termonalgy you could help me with in explaining this is welcome.
Sawmill=Harbor Freight Item#62366
Chainsaws=MS180CBE(14"), MS290(18"), MS038(20"), MS660(20" & 36")
Staff=1Wife & 5 Kids :)
Please excuse my typing. I don't do well at catching auto correct.

drobertson

Not sure what mill you have and nothing about that make of blade, or your set up so If the blades are sharp it seems to me that there is an alignment issue somewhere, and to add, the wider you saw expect a few more issues in regards to speed of cut and wave,
only have a few chain saws I'm not suppose to use, but will at times, one dog Dolly, pretty good dog, just not sure what for yet,  working on getting the gardening back in order, and kinda thinking on maybe a small bbq bizz,  thinking about it,

beenthere

Kingmt
Welcome to the Forestry Forum.

Where are you located? You can click on your forum name and will be taken to your profile for updating, then your location will help to answer your questions.