iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Is there an on-line source of Stihl bar and chain?

Started by jimgerken, October 14, 2009, 11:52:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jimgerken

Hi guys.  I have an 034, 16 inch bar.  Been thinking that when the chains I have wear out (probably this fall) and cannot be reground anymore, I would upgrade to an 18 or 20 inch bar, and get three new chains of course.  After reading all the good things you guys generally say about Stihl chain, sounds like I will stick with it.  One thing I wish to avoid is the bumpers (anti-kickback features), cause I hate the extra care it takes when sharpening.  I have plenty of experience so it is not a safety concern to me to loose the bumpers.  And I want to stick with semi-chisel, and 3/8", 050 gauge. 
  I know I could go to my local dealer and get the bar and chains, but can I save some money on line?  Does Baileys have Stihl?  It doesnt seem to appear on their website. 
  Thanks!

Rocky_J

No, not directly from a dealer. Stihl will revoke the franchise of any dealer selling Stihl products online.

You may find some stuff on eBay.

tonto

There is a guy, I think it "loghomecreations" that sells bar and chain combos on ebay. Have bought from them before, very good to deal with. Tonto.
Stihl MS441 & Husqvarna 562XP. CB5036 Polaris Sportsman 700 X2. Don't spend nearly enough time in the woods.

01crewcab

Well it's just a thought but you could buy an Oregon or Windsor bar on-line, and go to your dealer for the Stihl chain. The Stihl dealers around here often run 2 for 1 pricing on Stihl chain.
2100(2),480, 281, 181,372XPW, 460,435,350,61(4),51-Huskys
49SP, 630Super(3),670's(4), 830, 920, 930 Jonsered's
S-XL925 Homelite
SP125C, 790, 250, 1010 Macs
27Ton Troybilt Splitter
NRA Life Endowment Member
Viet Nam Vet

Rocky_J