iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Newbie question

Started by StorminN, January 03, 2008, 03:54:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

StorminN

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie to the timberframe thing... I helped build and raise my uncle's house years ago and I lived in them for many years in New England, but now I'm on the west coast where they are few and far between. I love the feel of a timber frame, so I'm hoping to build a timber frame house one way or another in the next few years. I do have a sawmill and nine acres of forest to choose from, so that may help.

I've decided to make a pair of timber trestle sawhorses as my first project... to see if I enjoy the work and to see if I'm any good at it, too. It's been a long time since I've done any real woodworking. My dad was a woodworker and most of my experience in the shop was just helping him build furniture, etc.

So... my newbie question is... when cutting mortises (without a mortiser) is there a general rule of thumb for the size of auger to use? For example, do most people use an auger 1/2 the size of the mortise? (1" auger for a 2" mortise)... or do people go smaller or bigger than this? I'm just trying to figure out what would work best.

Also, for rip cuts for tenons... what are most of you guys using? Handsaws? Beam saws? Just curious.

Thanks in advance for any input.

-Norm.
Happiness... is a sharp saw.

Jim_Rogers

Norm:
Welcome to the forum.
You've asked some good questions.

Quoteis there a general rule of thumb for the size of auger to use?

Usually we use the width of the mortise for the diameter of the bit. The point about using a bit to remove wood from the mortise is to remove (hog out) as much wood as easily as possible.
So that's the why we do it. The more wood your remove by bit the less you have to remove by chisel (which is harder).

Here is a mortise layout drawing: