iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

why does my wood look like this!

Started by monte, December 27, 2005, 08:34:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

monte

hey guys just looking for input! :o

My first cut with my new mill makes me wonder if i did something wrong, i'm no pro but should my wood look like this? ???( cut a dry 4x4 spruce )

More blade tension?faster rpm?pushing to fast? or is this normal! Its of coarse a new blade.

Picture quality is not the best. of coarse

Dan_Shade

is it wavy?

from the pic it looks like the band has a tooth with the set off a little bit
Woodmizer LT40HDG25 / Stihl 066 alaskan
lots of dull bands and chains

There's a fine line between turning firewood into beautiful things and beautiful things into firewood.

monte

Quote from: Dan_Shade on December 27, 2005, 08:37:20 PM
is it wavy?

from the pic it looks like the band has a tooth with the set off a little bit

I agree but its a new blade from the box? :-[ would this happen if I was feeding the head too fast?

ronwood

monte,

I would agree with Dan_Shade. The tooth near the weld may be out of set slightly.

Ron
Sawing part time mostly urban logs -St. Louis/Warrenton, Mo.
LT40HG25 Woodmizer Sawmill
LX885 New Holland Skidsteer

Dan_Shade

you sure you didn't saw into a backstop?  i find new bands the best to do that ;D (i've had boards like that after hitting metal)
Woodmizer LT40HDG25 / Stihl 066 alaskan
lots of dull bands and chains

There's a fine line between turning firewood into beautiful things and beautiful things into firewood.

Radar67

Quote from: monte on December 27, 2005, 08:39:17 PM
would this happen if I was feeding the head too fast?

I tend to agree with Dan and Ron. Just how fast was you feeding the blade though?

Stew
"A man's time is the most valuable gift he can give another." TOM

If he can cling to his Blackberry, I can cling to my guns... Me

This will kill you, that will kill you, heck...life will kill you, but you got to live it!