iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Picked up some White Oak logs...suggestions please

Started by burtle, April 02, 2018, 08:58:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

burtle

I built a little 8x8x8 storage shed for my lawn care equipment and other small items. I'm going to have these white oak logs milled into 1/2" boards and use them as siding. I had 3 eastern pine logs milled into 2x4's and 2x6's about 4-5 weeks ago. That's what I built the shed with. It turned out great!

Do you guys suggest using nails or screws for the boards? I'm hoping there's enough here to do the whole shed. I'm still new to all of this and learning as much as I can. We are milling the two smaller logs first. If there's enough to do the shed with those two we will quarter saw the bigger log and I'd love to make a kitchen table out of it when the boards dry of course and give it to my dad for a surprise. There's 3 other logs as well, which aren't pictured. They were only 4' long and about 18" in diameter. I could make some good table legs out of those..along with cutting boards, shelves etc..

The bad, the logs have been sitting on the ground for 1.5 years from what I was told. I imagine the first 2-3" will be garbage from rot. It was pouring down rain when we were loading them. That's why they are wet.

I'm just hoping the logs aren't full of worms.
Never Give Up

starmac

Old LT40HD, old log truck, old MM forklift, and several huskies.

burtle

Quote from: starmac on April 02, 2018, 09:11:38 PM
I am thinking that 1/4 inch is a typo?
Yes, I meant 1/2" for the siding.

That's what was suggested to me anyway.
Never Give Up

Southside

White oak lasts a long time, you will have some sapwood loss, but the heartwood will be fine.  *2 on the 1/4" figure, I think you would have issues with splitting that thin. 
Franklin buncher and skidder
JD Processor
Woodmizer LT Super 70 and LT35 sawmill, KD250 kiln, BMS 250 sharpener and setter
Riehl Edger
Woodmaster 725 and 4000 planner and moulder