iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

A load of %$@#

Started by Wade, July 18, 2003, 09:11:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wade

I called a tree service that I saw removing some trees that had blown down. I asked the guy what he does with them. He said he grinds up the knarly ones. I asked what he did with the walnuts and oaks and other good ones. He said he had 3 walnuts that he sold to some guy in S. Carolina for $3700.00 each and the guy comes and picks them up also. My cell phone crapped out so I did'nt get to ask him how big they were and after hearing that price I did'nt bother calling him back :o. Now I'm pretty new to this but I can't imagine somebody paying that kind of money for a city tree. I also can't see a veneer buyer wanting anything to do with them either. What do you think, was this guy yanking my chain or what? Wade
If it's worth cutting down a tree for, it's worth doing right

biziedizie

Wade I think the guy is pulling your chain, gotta be careful as there's guys out there that are crooks.
  There's a home builder out here that has 8 very nice trees that were dropped and just by chance I was passing by his lot and I asked him what he wanted for them. He explained to me that theses trees (fir) were worth alot and told me I could have them all for $2500.00. I told him that they weren't worth it to me and he said he had a guy that would pay alot more and that he was giving me a deal.
  I gave him my card and over the last month he has called me a few times and the price has gone down big time. The last call the price was $200.00 for all and I still said no. I know that he's desperate to get rid of these trees as he can't get a final from the city till the trees are gone but I will not help this guy out as he tried to screw me.
  I'm finding that there's alot of crooked people in this business so it's good to be on your toes.

Steve

sawyerkirk