iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Maintenance & Repairs for Wood-Mizer LT40H

Started by ReVive Industries, February 29, 2016, 11:53:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ReVive Industries

I just bought a used Wood-Mizer LT40 hydraulic and as eager as I am to start milling the logs I've been collecting for the last several years, I'd also like to do some cleaning and a few repairs on the mill.  It's in good shape and everything seems to be mechanically sound so my goal is really cleaning it up aesthetically, (who doesn't like a nice clean new machine to work with?) and repairing some minor bends.  The most significant or obvious bends are the loading forks.  I assume logs were run into the forks when they were in the down position as it is only the ends that are bent outward and they still function for the full spectrum of the loading operation.  Does anyone have any experience with this specifically or have an idea how to bend them back to straight without having to remove the arms?  I'll add pictures tomorrow when it's light out again.  Thanks in advance for any input.

thecfarm

ReVive Industries,I just want to welcome you to the forum. Been sawing long?  ;D
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

jdtuttle

I bought a 1992 LT40HD several years ago. I'm not sure where your located but the first thing I did was call woodmizer. They have a record of your mill & any replacement parts purchased from them. They also have a traveling repair maintenance truck that will come to your location. They can do routine maintenance and check all operating parts & controls. They also let you help & explain the operation & maintenance items you need to pay attention to. Can't say enough about the quality and knowledge they have. It's an investment in your mill you won't regret.
Good luck & welcome to "The Forestry Forum"
Have a great day

Magicman

Welcome to the Forestry Forum, ReVive Industries.