iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Looking for new mill ideas

Started by smwwoody, May 03, 2004, 10:04:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

smwwoody

Well I built the mill I am running four years ago as a weekend Hobie mill.  I have been running it full time now for 2 years.  I didn't build it to be run this much.  It is time to start on a new higher production mill.  I want to stay with the vertical band.  and the log on a carriage like a circle mill.  it will probably use ether the mewdos or frick carriages that I have.  I built the carriage on the one I am running now and there is too much were in the set works after 4 years.

The big thing I want to here is how have you other circle guys set up your track.  I know a lot of different ways to do it as I have set up a few mills before and been in and out of a lot of them.  I just want to here all the pros and cons.  

I'm thinking of using 6" H beam for the uprights setting on jack bolts in concrete.  the footings will be pored in 24" plastic pipe 48" deep  after it is all leveled the base plates of the H beams will be grouted in.

then I will use the same 6" H beam on top with my track setting on it.

Is there any type of carriage wheel that you like better?

Woody
Full time Mill Manager
Cleereman head rig
Cooper Scragg
McDonugh gang saw
McDonugh edger
McDonugh resaw
TS end trim
Pendu slab recovery system
KJ4WXC

Ron Wenrich

Are you using a thin kerf blade?  Why are you even considering track?  I would think there are too many things that could go wrong by feeding a log through a thin kerf blade rather than feeding the blade through the log.  You could use a short section of track to load a log and put the carriage in position for sawing.  

I think it would be more cost effective to have a moving saw head.  Only a few guys have built any verts, but there are lots of advantages.  The biggest is you are working with gravity.