iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Day-to-Day Kiln Operation

Started by CKWoodCutter, December 02, 2018, 12:35:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CKWoodCutter

I was looking at getting a KD250 or L200 kiln and was just curious about what it takes each day to operate one of those kilns. I can't seem to find much about actually operating them. Also if anyone has some pros or cons to either that would be great. Thanks in advance.

scsmith42

I've been running an L200 version for about 14 years.  From a day to day perspective, you want to check the actual MC% of the load and also what the drying trends are (amount of MC% loss per day).  

Daily checks can be in the form of measuring a sample board via the oven-dry method, or once you are below 30% you can use a moisture meter to determine the MC%.

Other daily checks are to ensure that the baffling is still in place, and that the drain is working properly, the fans are all working properly and just visually check that everything is as it should be.

Sporadically you will need to change the temp and compressor / RH% settings as the wood dries.

Usually it is only 5 minutes or so per day to check, and once you understand the trending as long as you are not trying to dry aggressively you can probably skip a few days if you're going out of town, etc.
Peterson 10" WPF with 65' of track
Smith - Gallagher dedicated slabber
Tom's 3638D Baker band mill
and a mix of log handling heavy equipment.

CKWoodCutter

Thanks scsmith42! That is very helpful. I'd really like to add a kiln to my operation and didn't know how feasible it would be.

Escavader

I run 4 large capacity nyles kilns,each hold 15000 bf or more.
 Daily checks all fans and vents operating,moisture checks ,keep eye on suction line tempertures to know if it has proper gas charge.make sure oil is in site glass on compressors.,reverse fans twice a day.when lumbers ready apply steam to condition it and high temp to set the pitch.dump ,reload repeat.
Alan Bickford