iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Im new Im new i dont know what to dooo

Started by RexBandit, March 30, 2013, 05:22:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

RexBandit

Hello. Like the title says I'm new to sawmilling. I've always want my own mill ever since I was a little kid and grew up in the woods cutting firewood on my dads land. I've finally talked my wife into letting me buy one but the comprise would be that I start out with one of the smaller cheaper models so after much research I've decided to buy a Lumber Smith. It's in my price range and I'm skilled enough with a welder that I think I can make me a very nice metal track system. I plan on ordering the mill some time this coming week. Is there anything I should know or is there another better mill out there that I missed before I make the purchase. Any help will be greatly appriceaded.
I'm new so I can use all the help I can get.

m wood

Welcome rexbandit. I just looked up the site for the lumbersmith, I remember researching them befor.  the Elite is nearly 2k by itself.  IMO, (in my opinion) that mill leaves something to be desired.  But the real question is; how much lumber are you expecting to saw and for what purpose?  If you could fab out a track system you are heading the right direction, but I personally would want to change the wheels as well, IMO.

Many here may suggest you consider more mill by looking to some used options to get close to your price range.
good luck rex, and again, welcome aboard.
mark 
I am Mark
80 acre woodlot lots of hard and soft
modified nissan 4x4/welding rig
4x4 dodge plow truck
cat 931b track loader
Norwood mark IV
4' peavy
6' peavy
stihl 034
"her" wildthing limber saw
ALL the rustic furniture  woodworking stuff
check out FB

RexBandit