iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Selecting Culls

Started by mike_belben, May 12, 2021, 01:28:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mike_belben

Im only a layman here.   but a passionate pro-bono enthusiast has just as much capacity for observation as a paid expert, (2 eyes and a brain) so after 5 years of looking at the same trees and cutting and dissecting similar ones i feel like im reasonably equipped to bring up the subject of how to choose your hardwood thinning culls, and i really hope some actual pros will jump in and get the ball rolling on a valuable thread for others to discover in years to come.

White Oak is by far my most valuable economic crop tree so it gets my fullest attention.  White Oak is pretty slow growing and is shade intolerant.  It will die in the shade very slowly while consuming resources that a neighboring tree could have used to grow faster, so i work to hasten the removal of the inevitable losers.  sometimes this is hard to determine.  and every time, it is a shame when you removed the wrong one that actually had a bright future.  i call it cutters remorse in my head. 

this is a collection of bark photos on the losers.  the extra-mossy, dark coloration and blocky bark pattern is the giveaway, in my lowly opinion. the butt of a dying white oak will look just like the bark of an old black gum.  without leaves i really have to look up hard at the limb structure to distinguish them.  

both of these:

this is another WO in decline and though the bark is not blocky, it is falling off and powdery and the tree has an air of general poor health.