iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Looking to build my own house.

Started by joelespo, October 20, 2013, 12:35:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

joelespo

Hello all,

This is my first post on The Forestry Forum. I graduated college earlier this year and have been looking into building myself a house. My parents own lake property with a good deal of potential timber on it that I can have access to for building a small house. I've found some local guys with portable mills that I could have process the lumber. The house I'm looking to build is just under 700 square feet (basically a studio house) with a kitchen and living downstairs and an exposed loft upstairs. I can't stand the stick houses of today and want to build something that will stand the test of time. My dad is a very well-seasoned architectural designer and has put together a set of plans for me. So the last piece the puzzle is skilled labor. I'm thinking that after I've got all of the materials in order I would hire someone with old world knowledge to direct myself and family/friends constructing the house. I'm thinking that the total overall construction costs would be minimized this way, and that if I manage my money right I will have a very short term mortgage.

Any wisdom on this matter would be very much appreciated.

Thanks all,

Joel

beenthere

joel
Welcome to the Forestry Forum

You have a great dream and plan, so go for it.

What is the next step you have in your plan and when do you start it?
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

giant splinter

This sounds like a nice idea and you have all your ducks in a row," Git Er Dun" and have fun building it ....... you will enjoy your new place for years to come and have a smile on your face every time you pass through the entryway. ;D
roll with it

John_P