iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Boiled linseed oil tacky

Started by Brad_bb, April 20, 2010, 06:02:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brad_bb

I'm rather new to finishing.  I had some handles to redo - an axe, a shovel and a weeder.  I sanded them down smooth and then stained them with some general finish stain.  I did not stain the axe handle.  Then someone suggested I finish with boiled linseed oil. So I mixed 2 parts mineral spirits to 1 part boiled linseed oil and applied 2-3 coats over the course of a day.  Well the axe handle came out great, but the other two handles are still tacky after two days of drying.  Will this tackiness go away?  Should I follow up in a few days with some paste wax?  Again, I know I'm a newbie with refinishing, but trying to learn.  I thought I would leave the axe the way it is, no wax, use it for awhile and see how it does.  Any input appreciated.  By the way, the shovel and weeder handles were brand new, China made most likely.  The axe was a Swedish Gransfors.
Anything someone can design, I can sure figure out how to fix!
If I say it\\\\\\\'s going to take so long, multiply that by at least 3!

pigman

BLO will stay tacky if it remains on the surface. The stain kept the BLO from soaking into the handles. After applying BLO all excess should be wiped off. I would remove as much of the BLO as possible from the stained handles with mineral spirits.
Things turn out best for people who make the best of how things turn out.

Brad_bb

Then what?  To was or not to wax?

pigman

Wax away after the BLO is dry and cured. It takes a few days for BLO to fully cure.
Things turn out best for people who make the best of how things turn out.

CHARLIE

Why wax an axe handle?  Wouldn't that make it slippery and easy to fly out of your hands?  I don't think I've ever waxed the handle of a tool like a shovel, hoe, axe, etc.......... 
Charlie
"Everybody was gone when I arrived but I decided to stick around until I could figure out why I was there !"