iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Air drying fire wood

Started by Green Valley Cat, February 01, 2006, 05:15:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Green Valley Cat

Hello all.

I am not a professional but I would like to know how long it takes to air dry split logs that you will be using for fire wood.

We just moved out in the back woods on 5 acres with lots of trees and we don't have any experience with fireplaces and fire wood

We just cut down our first tree yesterday and we have it cut up in log sections most of them have been split.

I'm the air drying time varies from tree to tree but we don't know what type of tree we cut down.

beenthere

gvc
Welcome to the forum. :)
I plan on at least two full years of air drying time to get good burning. Any less drying time and I can tell that I'm using more wood and getting less heat. True, the wood will still burn, but the moisture has to be boiled off and converted to steam, thus using a lot of the BTU's in the wood to do that.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Ianab

I'd suggest 12 months is a minimum time for split wood. It also depends on how small it has been split up, smaller pieces will dry faster, large chunks and whole logs may take longer. Softwoods (pine, cypress, cedar) you may get away with drying for less time, but they aren't as good as hardwood for burning.
Anyway, wood cut now should be useable for next winter as it will dry well over summer.
Stack it to dry outside so plenty of breeze can flow thru the stack and speed up the drying.

Cheers

Ian
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

Michigan Mike