iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Do I really need insurance?

Started by Good Feller, September 16, 2008, 11:31:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Good Feller

I'd like to share my business ideas and then see if I really need general liability insurance.  I found a $1,000,000 plan for about $72 bucks a month. 

Well, ever since I graduated from Iowa State with a degree in forestry and found out that finding a good forestry job in Iowa is impossible.... I decided to make my own work.  I started a side forest consulting business a couple months ago.  I live in Southern Iowa where there is a lot more timber.  

Anyways,,, I bought a new truck, trailer, and a four wheeler to assist with the business.  Also a ton of other smaller stuff. I've got three saws: from a 14" poulan to a MS 460.  I also bought an HT131 stihl chainsaw.

What I will be doing is:
Timber sale preparation/administration
Timber stand improvement
Selling firewood
Tree felling/trimming   (according to the arborists I won't get any jobs because my work is limited to 15ft. and below and that is what most dads and sons are for)))  Although I don't know too many people that own an HT 131,,, so I think I might have an edge although I see their point.  Also, I'm good at directional felling

Stump grinding  Haven't got a stumper yet but I work at Vermeer and I can get a 10% discount on new stump grinders.  Thinking hard about getting one. 

So what do you think?  Do I need the insurance just starting out???  I know that I have to have it to get my commercial pesticide license in Iowa. (to put herbicide on stumps during TSI).    As long as you tell the person you are doing work for that you don't have it or include a waiver in the contract. 

Other than that remember this is a "side business"  I have a full-time job already. I don't really know how big of demand there will be.  I don't want to buy a years worth of insurance and then not have any jobs come my way...  I suppose it's all a risk.      

Good Feller