iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Mill Modification,Thank you Yellowhammer

Started by Gere Flewelling, May 28, 2020, 08:35:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gere Flewelling

I have recently completed building a claw type log turner for my Cook's MP-32 mill.  I would like to say I came up with it  myself, but that would be less than honest.  I used images that Yellowhammer posted of a turner he fabricated years ago on a Woodmizer mill that he had.  When I first saw his creation, I decided to give it a try.  I studied his photos for a long time to get the concept.  One thing the photos didn't have was dimensions.  It took me a while to figure out actual dimensions and geometry related to the space I had to work with.  This explains the numerous adjustment holes drilled here and there.  Once I determined the proper alignment holes, I don't think I will need to make many adjustments in the future.  I found a 12v. winch that has a remote control allowing me to mount the winch at the forward end of the mill and keep it out of harms way.  I can control it from anywhere near the mill.  I used it last weekend on some large ash logs.  Once I figured out the procedure, I was able to saw several logs without using my cant hook.  A couple were 23" in diameter.  One log was large enough that I had to use the cable log turner that came on the mill to make the first turn.  Once a slab was cut off, I was able to do the rest of the turning with the new device.  My original reason for building this claw type turner was to keep from having to walk to the other side of the mill to operate the original cable log roller.  Not that it doesn't work well, it just takes time to keep circling the mill.  I added another battery to power this new winch.  I am pretty sure that the occasional recharge of the battery will allow me all day log turning without low battery issues.  I just wanted to say thank you to Yellowhammer for sharing his amazing design skills with us and the old saying "A picture