iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Weird issue: Bore Cutting with XCut chain.

Started by Old Greenhorn, March 19, 2024, 09:59:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Old Greenhorn

SO this is odd. I have been using X-cut chains for about 2 years now and I like them. But recently (this last 10 days or so) I notice that my saw (in this case my little 350) just doesn't like to bore cut. I sharpen my saw everyday after work is done and generally only run 1-2 tanks a day through it. My sharpening has not changed (that I am aware  of). I hand file and about every 6 or so sharpening's I use the roller guide to get the geometry back on track in case I drifted.
What I am seeing is that the chain cuts like a raped ape Really well when cross cutting, but swing around and bore cut and its as if I am trying to push the bar through a rock inside the tree. The first time it happened I just blew it off as hard spots and that tree or some other one-off strange thing, But now it seems to be every time I bore. Oak, Hickory, or maple don't matter. The chain is normal sharp and still cuts quite well in a crosscut. Because I take a lot of heavy leaners I tend to bore more than most.

Anybody ever seen this? I have not examined the bar yet. Usually once I get my bore cut set up, it just sails on through, but not now, I really have to push and sometimes even reset my feet to get behind the saw, so this is more than a minor feeling. I am not ruling anything out, but lets just assume for a minute that the chain is properly sharpened, what other things could explain this?
I have to sharpen before I go back out today and I'll try to look the bar over. Maybe I blew the tip out? That means a new bar for me. (non-replaceable tip Husky Bar).
Ideas please?
Tom Lindtveit, Woodsman Forest Products
Oscar 328 Band Mill, Husky 350, 450, 562, & 372 (Clone), Mule 3010, and too many hand tools. :) Retired and trying to make a living to stay that way. NYLT Certified.
OK, maybe I'm the woodcutter now.