iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New Mill Advice/Input Wanted

Started by Darrel, June 06, 2014, 04:43:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Darrel

The search continues :P

This evening, my search turned up a LT70 for about half what everybody else is asking.  My first question is what's wrong with it. It's a 2003, don't yet know how many hours are on it, it has a 6' bed estension.  Cat diesel power.  Close enough to go see, only 2 Western states away.  (<500 miles). I have 20 years experience working in the lumber industry and know how to check bearings for wear and the like. I know signs of neglect when I see it.  I also recognize abuse of equipment. It is still way more than I wanted to spend but if the mill is in decent shape, it might be worth it.

I also found an LT15. At a good price, I could buy a tractor for the money I'd save even over the 88 LT40 and use it for log handling.  Not ideal, but would work till I made a little money.  And I wouldn't have to dip into other funds like I would have to with the LT70 mentioned above.

As of yet, I'm not in a hurry.  I thought about making a deposite on the 88 but decided against it.  I will be in its neck of the woods in August and can look at it then if it is still for sale and I'm still looking for a mill. if not I'll continue the search if I need to.
Darrel
1992 LT40HD

If I don't pick myself up by my own bootstraps, nobody else will.

uler3161

I believe I saw the same mill on craigslist awhile back. I was also wondering why it was so cheap considering all the options on it. Even if you had to replace a bunch of bearings it's still a good buy.
1989 LT40HD, WoodMaster 718

Dan

GAB

Darrel:
Please send me a PM with your number.
Are you on Mountain time?
Gerald
W-M LT40HDD34, SLR, JD 420, JD 950w/loader and Woods backhoe, V3507 Fransguard winch, Cordwood Saw, 18' flat bed trailer, and other toys.

Darrel