iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Poor man's "setworks"

Started by alecs, May 15, 2022, 09:59:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

alecs

I'm new to running my mill (Woodland HM130), and I don't really trust my eye yet on looking at the log scale.  So I have been measuring cuts with a tape measure before cutting to see that I am getting consistent boards.  That has had the predictable result of getting sap all over my tape measure (cutting pine).  So I came up with these little guides.  I laser cut some acrylic pieces, with a different piece for each board thickness, the idea being to put the long end on top of the cant and line up the blade with the stub end to determine the blade height when running each cut.

Thoughts?    

I'll try and get a couple of photos of them in use once I try them out.  In the meantime, working on designing a tag axle for bringing long logs out of the woods.

Crusarius

Thats a pretty sweet idea. I am starting to lose my touch identifying steel thicknesses from across the shop. I may need to make some of those for steel thickness.

btulloh

I find gauge is very helpful also. Making consistent Lumber is a good thing to do. I also made up a chart that shows how many clicks or holes it takes to make a certain thickness. You'll probably want gauges for both hardwood and softwood scales also.

I saw a lot of pine for framing and I have a chart and gauges that help me to cut pine slightly oversize so that it dries and shrink to match store-bought thicknesses.  For instance to get a 2 x 4 that matches store-bought I'll cut pine 1 9/16 thick by 3 5/8 wide. Even allowing for differences in shrinkage because of tangential versus lateral shrinkage and the way it varies as your Cutthrough account they still come out pretty consistent and can be mixed in with store-bought when necessary.

Anything that helps make more consistent Lumber is a good thing.

HM126

Hilltop366