iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Newbie has Sawmill questions

Started by OldGoat, July 25, 2014, 01:26:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

OldGoat

Hello, I'm new to Forestry Forum and new to the sawmill world. I have begun to look for a used mill and at this point I want a circular sawmill (I'm guessing this will stir up some debate as to why). I have found a Jackson lumber PM-B 460 its old and rusty been setting out a few years, owner said he used last three years ago. He hasn't come up with an asking price. So my question does anyone have any clue to what this mill is worth (I know condition is the biggy) It does have a large blade with replaceable teeth. It is PTO driven. I'm also looking at a Timber King m-22, about same condition smaller blade, same questions. Thank you for any help.

goose63

Hay OldGoat welcome to the Forum I am no help with the circular mill
You hold on a bit lots of guys here have them thy will be along sooner or later
We like pictures 8)
goose
if you find your self in a deep hole stop digging
saw logs all day what do you get lots of lumber and a day older
thank you to all the vets

mad murdock

Welcome aboard OldGoat!  A pic or two of the current mill would say a lot to guys wanting to give you an extimate on worth, as well as your location ,you can update that in your profile. 
Circle mills are good, but require more support equipment than a band mill. Give us a bit of back story on your plans and what you have to work with as far as support equipment, and you will get some very good feedback.
Turbosawmill M6 (now M8) Warrior Ultra liteweight, Granberg Alaskan III, lots of saws-gas powered and human powered :D

thecfarm

Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

Deese

2004 LT40 Super 51hp w/6' bed extension
Cooks AE4P Edger
Cat Claw sharpener/Dual Tooth Setter
Kubota svl75-2 skidsteer w/grapple, forks, brushcutter
1977 Log Hog Knuckleboom loader/truck

pine