iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

1st Post intro and sawmill planning

Started by tjwelchs, September 22, 2017, 05:02:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tjwelchs

Hey everyone, my name is Travis.  I am a pharmacy school student, live in the midwest, started woodworking about 1.5 years ago and it has taken off pretty well.  My main career goal is to finish school, be a pharmacist for awhile to pay off all loans, while woodworking and milling in my free time of course, and eventually aquire enough rental properties to do milling and woodworking full time in the future.  Even though my tables sell for a nice price currently, the slabs are pretty expensive, so the natural progression for me right now is to build a sawmill.  I know of numerous people who have big logs and tree services around here are willing to give up logs, so if I can build a mill, slabs in the long run will be much cheaper.  I would also like to be able to mill wood for other people for cash.