iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Design student needs help with developing new forestry product

Started by lewuk, December 23, 2009, 03:05:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lewuk

I am a Product Design student at Nottingham Trent University, UK, and am designing a new product for the forestry market. The wheeled, carried or worn container will hold all or many of the tools required for small and medium-sized tree felling for woodland management rather than commercial felling. The carrying aid aims to make the process of transporting equipment from a vehicle to the site of work more efficient, if there is some distance between the two. Often several trips are needed, and using a wheelbarrow, crate or bag have their problems. The device can also provide a means of keeping track of tools.
If anybody could suggest any ideas or answer a few of my queries it would be a great help.

1. Can you associate with the problem described?
2. Do you think a product is needed to address such a problem?
3. Would you favour a wheeled, carried or worn device for carrying equipment?
4. Would there be any particular features that would be beneficial on the product?
5. Could you imagine each employee carrying their own equipment or a product that caters 2+ people?

I have developed some concepts already but would like to hear your initial thoughts. Any other details that would help develop the product would be extremely helpful.

Thank you,
Lewis

BcWoodWorks

Hey Lewuk,   8)

Welcome to the forums.

I don't know much of anything about felling, but I did see a couple points I thought I would point out to you.

Firstly, the problem with a wheeled equipment carrying device is that it has to cheaper than an ATV, but still strong enough to carry the heavy stuff in and out. Also, if it has to fit where most other machines won't; that means it needs to have a relatively small wheel base to get around logs, etc.