iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Couple sweet gum videos

Started by CCC4, October 02, 2013, 06:34:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CCC4

Quote from: grweldon on October 04, 2013, 08:12:38 AM
CCC4,

Like I said, I'm really new to all this.   I guess I was assuming quite a bit since I had no clue about your background or experience. Obviously you are extremely experienced and I could learn a lot from you.  You just mentioned "heart pull" and being an engineer, I analyzed the mechanics and concluded that the method you use could result in the heart pull that you mentioned. I really didn't have a clue that all the factors had been taken into consideration.

Would you please take to time to explain a few things that I don't understand?

I've heard the term "Stump Jumping" but I suppose I don't actually know what it means.

I'm also not clear at all about why a load of Cedar would be turned away because of the way it was cut.

Thanks brother... didn't mean to offend...

Sir , there is no offense taken in any way. Ok, i'm just here for a short bit so I will try and explain what I'm doing. Basically with the narrow face and the "over kerf" I try and get back into the heart wood and stop somewhere around 60%..now this is where reading  your tree comes in, you have to know how far you can go in before pinching your bar, plus you have to know that your tree isn't leaned or it will come on over and chair backwards...and that's not good.

By using this method I do two things, I can get through my back cut as the tree starts going over...instead of leaving a 40% / 60% and trying to burn through the back 60%. (does that make sense) Secondly the majority of the heart wood is already compromised by my face...add the two together and you can eliminate any fiber and reduce you possibility of barber chair.