iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

New to me mill

Started by crash, December 26, 2013, 10:27:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

crash

Howdy all. I'm a logger by trade, just bought a large circular mill, always wanted one. The mill has a big old Cummins, hydraulic log turner, 3 knees, and 4 extra blades. I plan to move it home this spring over layoff. Can a person make any money with these things? (dont need to get rich) I have the book Circular sawmills and their efficient operation, is there another good source for knowledge? I'm mechanicly inclined and a good fabricator. I'm looking forward to assembling and operating this thing but it would be nice to be able to make a little extra money to keep the "war department" happy. All thoughts/advice are aprieciated. Thanks in advance.

Magicman

I am of no help with your questions but Welcome to the Forestry Forum.   :)
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

justallan1

Welcome to the forum, Crash.
Sorry,I can't help much either.

Allan

Chuck White

Welcome to the Forestry Forum, Crash!
~Chuck~  Cooks Cat Claw sharpener and single tooth setter.  2018 Chevy Silverado and 2021 Subaru Ascent.
With basic mechanical skills and the ability to read you can maintain a Woodmizer  LT40!

Brian_Rhoad

Possum Creek

Sell the  big money logs and saw the cheap logs, that way you have enough money to keep sawing.  :D  Joking aside, Crash you could see where your best profit is easy enough.          Good luck               PC   

beenthere

QuoteI have the book Circular sawmills and their efficient operation