iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Need life advice for getting into Timber Framing

Started by DrakeTruber, February 09, 2023, 04:30:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DrakeTruber

Folks, I’m looking for life advice. I’m a young man (24) with a wife and baby looking to make a career choice. I’m a 2d artist by trade and while I enjoy the work and am good at it, I’d rather be outdoors and working with my hands. Also, art is a fairly unstable profession and work can be spotty.

Like many of you, I am interested in timber framing because of the satisfaction of good, lasting craftsmanship, which contrasts strongly with modern carpentry. There are no timber framing companies nearby (I’m west of Fortwayne, Indiana) and I’m not the type to get excited by osb and pneumatic nailers. What would you folks do if you were in my shoes. Is it worth grinding for four years as carpenter if I want to start a timber framing company (since there are none around) while side hustling with small timber framed sheds?

Many many thanks
Drake Swartzentruber

Don P

Hey Drake,

Well, I guess do the sentence at least until you understand a little more about carpentry  :D. Your family would probably appreciate a steady paycheck too. While learning historic carpentry, study contracting, construction law, engineering and architecture as they relate to your work if you wish to go out on your own. Subscribe to the related trade journals. Here you would need to pass a few community college courses before sitting for the licensing tests, union might be of help there?