iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Thinking about going into business

Started by lineguy82, February 05, 2013, 09:01:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lineguy82

I'm new to the site. I'm a lineman by trade, but raised a farmer. I want a mill that can produce but won't break the bank( I've got a baby at home). What do you guys suggest?
95 chevy 4x4
Husky 562xp
Hardy H5
22T Countyline Splitter
...and hopefully a sawmill when the wife finishes college

thecfarm

lineguy,welcome to the forum, First question,been around a mill before? You need buyers for lumber,not just the one that say they will buy,show me the money. ;D Others will post.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

mikeb1079

well i suppose that depends on what you mean by produce but....

if you're thinking about milling some for personal and some for sale i would think a manual mill would do just fine.  they can put out alot of wood if you wanna work.  that's what i've been doing.  after a while you'll have a whole shed full of slabs.   ;D  the usual suspects are wm lt10, ez boardwalk jnr, norwood lumberlite, etc etc....

these all can be had for under 5k and have decent resale if you want to upgrade.

if you want to be portable and saw for others as a business part time i wouldn't be w/o hydraulics.  but it's a large jump in price with used machines starting out around 10k.
that's why you must play di drum...to blow the big guys mind!
homebuilt 16hp mill
99 wm superhydraulic w/42hp kubota

drobertson

Lineguy I have to say how big is the bank?  I always tell folks that ask me about my mill, a super lt 40, 32k worth new, the original payments were 700/month,  can a pick up truck make this payment and then some? This is a conservative number, but if you can cut four or five logs a day you can pay for the mill if you can sell the lumber.