iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

mig welder upgrade help

Started by 47sawdust, December 20, 2019, 09:28:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

47sawdust

I'm looking to move up from my Hobart 135 to a 220 machine.I am a hobby welder doing repair and light fab work.An older Lincoln Sp-175 plus is available locally light use ,heated garage, with cart,gloves,Hawk helmet,gas and 23' cord.Asking price is $750.A new Hobart 190 can be had for under $700.00,just the welder.
Suggestions please.
Thanks,Mick
Mick
1997 WM Lt30 1999 WM twin blade edger Kubota L3750 Tajfun winchGood Health Work is my hobby.

TKehl

A Hobart 210 can run on 110 (power limited) or 220 and can be had used in the price range you are talking.  Selling the 135 would give a significant offset on the purchase price and you would not loose any capability.  My $0.02   ;)

Another question might be are you running just flux core now or also with a bottle?  If you don't have a bottle, getting one in a package can make a difference.
In the long run, you make your own luck – good, bad, or indifferent. Loretta Lynn

doc henderson

Lincoln and miller are great brands, I consider Hobart to be homeowner stuff.  not necessarily bad.  I am a hobby guy as well so for what it is worth.  I have a miller 250x.  many service centers will take care of some, but not all.  might check to see what service is available in your area.  we used to have many welding supply/retailers, now they are all bought up by the same company.
Timber king 2000, 277c track loader, PJ 32 foot gooseneck, 1976 F700 state dump truck, JD 850 tractor.  2007 Chevy 3500HD dually, home built log splitter 18 horse 28 gpm with 5 inch cylinder and 32 inch split range with conveyor powered by a 12 volt tarp motor

47sawdust

My local AIR Gas dealer gives the older Lincoln a thumbs up.I have a relationship with them and have been swapping out cylinders with them for 20 years.I'm not looking for a big step up.
I am currently use solid wire with gas.
Mick