iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

How big to mill dimensional

Started by BeeBazaar, August 07, 2023, 08:16:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BeeBazaar

I'm going to be milling some walnut for baseboards at my house.  I have limited experience as I am pretty green, no pun intended🙄

If I want 6" tall x true 1" thick by whatever length, how big should I mill to have room to finish process.   Planning on jointing planing and finish cutting on the table saw.  I just want to limit scarp or maximize use.

maineshops

Just finished 800 bf of papal and fir. I set o 1 in which gave me a 7/8 in board. Ran it through my parks planer 3 passes that gave me a 3/4 finished board. I had a few arms with saw marks on one side and I just put that face down or cut that portion out. Dan
Phil:4, 13

ladylake

You might want to make it thinner, most houses the walls aren't straight and a full inch wont  bend very easy.  Steve
Timberking B20  18000  hours +  Case75xt grapple + forks+8" snow bucket + dirt bucket   770 Oliver   Lots(too many) of chainsaws, Like the Echo saws and the Stihl and Husky     W5  Case loader   1  trailers  Wright sharpener     Suffolk  setter Volvo MCT125c skid loader

SawyerTed

The top of a 1" thick baseboard will be a dust collector!   :o  

Have you mocked up a 1" baseboard to see how it looks?   If 1" base has a quarter round or shoe molding at the bottom, it could begin to look heavy.  

Go thinner and stretch that walnut.   
Woodmizer LT50, WM BMS 250, WM BMT 250, Kubota MX5100, IH McCormick Farmall 140, Husqvarna 372XP, Husqvarna 455 Rancher

BeeBazaar

I haven't mocked anything up.  I would probably put a radius on the top tho.   No toenail or quarter round will be used either.  Just curious how much extra I should build in to the rough cut to get the end result 

Nebraska