iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

On demand domestic hot water using water to water heat exchanger?

Started by Fether Hardwoods, June 05, 2015, 10:51:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fether Hardwoods

I would like to use a plate heater to make the hot water for my home, my question is how big of an exchanger would I need to get my domestic water from about 50 degrees to 130 degrees assuming a flow of 2 gallons a minute?
Thanks

azmtnman

A btu is the amount of heat it takes to raise 1 lb of water 1 degree Fahrenheit.
Water weight=8.35 lbs./gallon
You need to raise your temp 80 degrees
80x 16.7 (2 gallons) =1336 a minute or 80160 btu/hr  (the terms we typically use).
A gallon of liquid propane (LP) is roughly 96,000 btu per gallon.
Your heat exchanger will need to be sized for your water flow and the temperature of your "supply heat"--in this case, your plate heater (I'm not sure what exactly that is)--may be available flow rate/btu/hr.
I am a redirected commercial HVAC mechanic with 20 years experience.
1983 LT 30, 1990 Kubota L3750DT, 2006 Polaris 500 EFI, '03 Dodge D2500 Cummins powered 4X4 long-bed crew cab, 1961 Ford backhoe, Stihl MS250, MS311 and MS661--I cut trees for my boss who was a Jewish carpenter!

Fether Hardwoods

It's a water to water heat exchanger, using the stove to heat my domestic hot water. I can get a 125000 btu unit or 225000 btu unit, I am thinking of getting the 225 to be safe.
Thanks for your help

azmtnman

The mfg should have all the information you need. I know plenty of people who have heated their hot water with their wood boilers.
One thing about choosing a size--if you get way too big, the unit will not run "full throttle" enough to burn clean and it will soot up a lot.
1983 LT 30, 1990 Kubota L3750DT, 2006 Polaris 500 EFI, '03 Dodge D2500 Cummins powered 4X4 long-bed crew cab, 1961 Ford backhoe, Stihl MS250, MS311 and MS661--I cut trees for my boss who was a Jewish carpenter!

jfaulring