iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Antique Acres - Cedar Falls,Iowa -Updated:Videos

Started by inspectorwoody, August 26, 2007, 03:55:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

inspectorwoody

Just got back from the show and couldn't have asked for a better day! Sunny and warm but the results of all the rain we have recieved didn't go unnoticed!

There was a small shop set up and a gentleman was making wooden handles etc. He had some wood species laid out and numbered and laying next to it was a little piece of paper with speices on it. You had to match the sample number with the name on the paper. Natalie asked me if I was going to try it and I did! Was down to my last three. Hackberry,White Elm and Spruce. Guy told me that the streaks in one sample were not normal and than I got it! He told me I was the first person to get them all correct. Than I told him I was a lumber inspector!  ;D :D ;D He has bought lumber from us before and the sample of Cherry he had came from us.

This little boy was having fun operating this crawler when we parked.

This beautifal truck belongs to Fishsticks Mill Work located in Janesville,Iowa. They also had their Lucas Mill and Blockbuster Firewood Processor there. The father was killed last year in a snowmobile accident and the boy has kept the business going.

The following are pictures from what I call the "Mini Circle" and boy was it neat! It made quick work out of small limbs etc. Some were decent size.

Found another Crabb Circle Mill!  :)

Another Circle Mill they had on display.

Shingle Mill

Mini Steam Baler

Hope you all enjoy them as much as Natalie and I did being there.  :)

beenthere

Thanks for the pics. Looks like a great day too. Was here as well. 
Spent part of the day on a tour boat on the Wisconsin River above the Wisconsin Dells (tourist trap). Great scenery.

south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Tom