iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

norwood super lumbermate 2000

Started by mcarso1, May 31, 2008, 03:41:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mcarso1

I am new to the sawmilling hobby as well as this site so i have a few questions i need answered. I am purchasing a norwood lumbermate 2000 and was wondering what you all think of them? I work for a power company and get a lot of poles and would like it to mainly cut them up for fence posts for the farm anybody have experience doing this? How do i search on here for norwood info and past posts?

Dave Shepard

Welcome to the Forum! There are a bunch of Norwood owners on the forum. At the top of the page is a "Search" button.

Dave
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!

Tom

Norwood makes a good mill.  I have friends who have them and the only complaints are about the sharpener, not the mill.

I'm not one who favors sawing old poles.  The hearts aren't treated wood and when you make a post, you open up untreated wood to the environment.   The outside "jackets" of sapwood are treated and you can get some pretty good boards from there.   I would also wear a face mask/respirator and bathe thoroughly after each sawing session too.  Ingesting poisons of any kind are not good for you.  The heavy metals may be years showing up in your system.

Ironwood

Norwood is a GOOD basic mill. I have just bought one used. The 23 HP seems a good investment as it seems quieter and catches rpm's way quicker than the 13 Honda.