iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Prime Timber

Started by SliverPicker, November 10, 2014, 12:51:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SliverPicker

Folks, there is no where to go from here, but up.  I am guessing this is about 2 acres.  Before and after pictures. 1 long in the tooth Stihl 362. About 10 saw chains. 1 TF C5D and the emotional support of Toivo the dog.

This patch yielded about 35 tons of useable wood. Most of what I have been in this season has been 60% blown down.  This was about 99.8%. At least the ground was dead flat. 

I wish I had a GPS track of my skidder movements on this one. It would look like an explosion in a spaghetti factory.

Let the games begin.

Prime Timber.

2.5 days later.

The aftermath.

Approximately 30 tons of saw logs.

5 tons of cull pellet wood. Toivo is posing for scale.  He's right at 5 feet from nose to tip of tail.

I've lost right at 20 pounds since the second week in July.  Is it any wonder? :D
Yooper by trade.

treeslayer2003

jeez silver.......be nice to get in some real timber eh.........

SliverPicker

No kidding. It's just junk as far as the eye can see.  It has gotten so discouraging all I do is laugh now. :'(

What I would give for a dangle head processor about now.
Yooper by trade.

chester_tree _farmah

Wow. How old was the blow down? Sounds like u r in better shape at least! Nice work.
254xp
C4B Can-Car Tree Farmer
Ford 1720 4wd loader hoe

CCC4

Dangit mang! That strip was leveled huh! Sheesh! Get well soon all those dull chains! LOL! Hey, you running square filed or semi chisel on that stuff?

SliverPicker

I'm running chisel chain.  I've got my grinder down to a science I'll tell you that.

I don't know how long this stuff has been on the ground, but most of it has been dead for 15 years.  The place I'm working is where the Colorado beetle epidemic started in 1999.  It's a good thing we have a dry climate here.  In many other parts of the country this wood would have been worm food by now.