iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Milling lumber for joist and rafters

Started by owenmc006, November 25, 2021, 11:16:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

owenmc006

First time poster from east central Alabama.  I am currently clearing land near a lake to build a home. A friend from church is doing the clearing and he has a nice sawmill that can handle 21 foot logs.  We have bulldozed over several southern yellow pines that have very few limbs and and have been able to get three logs from each tree 18-20 feet long. My hope is to saw 2x10 and 2x8 to use as floor joist and ceiling joist. I also have some hardwood logs to cut 20 feet for rafters. 

My question is, if we get these boards sawed by the end of January would I be able to use these as joist and rafters to dry in a house starting the end of May, the first of June. I am a teacher and have the most time to work in the summers. I will not be conditioning the space, adding insulation, drywall, or anything other than decking, shingles, housewrap etc. for a good while. I will be using kiln dried lumber for studs. 

We will likely stack, sticker, and cover the top of the wood to dry until May/June.

Appreciate any thoughts or recommendations.

Don P

That should work fine. We sawed a whack of 20' 2x12 poplar framing midsummer that we left stickered at the edge of the woods, too heavy to move. I was planing the first of it last week. Starting cool and finishing warm is better, it will be too dry for bugs and mold to be excited by the time it warms up. The hardwood I would soak down with a good coating of a borate solution to keep the beetles out of it. We sprayed the poplar as we sawed, since I planed it I'll spray it again when its framed.