iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Buzz about sawmill insurance vs. bandsaw mill insurance

Started by Kelvin, October 22, 2007, 10:30:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kelvin

Recently my home owners insurance just dropped me out of the blue b/c i had an "uninsured" business on my property.  I told my agent that i was a contractor, but they just sent me a letter without asking any questions, or telling me what they are having trouble with.  So, i'm out looking for insurance and coming up with all sorts of trouble.  2 of the big companies around me State Farm and Farm Bureau agents asked whether i use "finishes" in my woodshop.  I said, i think most people in the world who make anything use "finishes"  Sorry, we don't insure the use of "finishes"  This makes me wonder if i promised to only use wax finish if that would work?

There has been a number of threads about insurance and sawmilling, but i'm wondering about how dangerous band mills really are.  There are probably difficult agents, but it may be coming from the top down that they don't want anymore claims no matter how much they charge.  I've been calling around to different contractor insurance agents and some are super worry warts and if you ask them any questions, like "i sell some things from my shop, what happens if people come out to buy something?"  They respond like the sky is falling.  "oh, buy things?  They could get hurt!"