iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

processer

Started by sodbuster, November 17, 2019, 02:35:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sodbuster

we are building a small processer and have a 12hp diesel motor how big a pump can this motor handle

dave_dj1

I'm no expert but does a diesel turn enough rpm's to run a pump at capacity?
I know gas motors turn at about 3600 wot and mine runs my 22gpm pump just fine (11hp gas)
What type of pump are you wanting to run? I would think that would matter also.

Gearbox

A 22 gallon pump at 3600 RPM . 12 HP should run a 22 . We need a lot more info about your diesel and do you want to run it at 3600 all the time .
A bunch of chainsaws a BT6870 processer , TC 5 International track skidder and not near enough time

Hilltop366

A 22 gpm pump would have to be a 2 stage pump, if a single stage pump it would be considerably less, around 5 or 6 gpm.

sodbuster

I really don't know a lot about this motor its a yanmar 2 cylinder liguid cooled and probably only runs about 22oo rpm

ButchC

As others have touched upon there is more to it than X motor will run X pump. The basics of the deal is this.  When you see things like "this pump requires X engine" certain important parameters have been ASSUMED.
The HP required to turn a pump is a combination of flow which gives you speed x pressure which gives you force. There are many online calculators to help you through that. Also important is the fact that pressure is NOT determined by the pump, that is a factor of the loading you place on it. The pump does need to be capable or producing the pressure you ask of it and have acceptable service life.   I repeat because it is important and often misunderstood, pumps do NOT build pressure the LOAD does,  period. Keep these things firmly planted in your mind and it will help you sort through the process of choosing the correct pieces for your processor.