iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

More firewood ?'s

Started by Timberwerks, July 10, 2004, 05:42:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Timberwerks

Sorry for all the questions but I'm new to this.

What lengths should I cut my logs to? My market will be fire places and wood stoves so I'm thinking 16" or 24".

I know a cord is 4x4x8. If I have three rows of 16" logs will the face of that stack be a face cord or is half the stack a face cord?

I quess what I need is for someone to explain how the wood should be sold.

Thanks again
Dale

Bro. Noble

A face cord is 4' high, 8' long,  by whatever length you cut it.

In Misssouri,  it's not legal to advertise firewood in measurememts other than cords--------probably because face cord isn't an exact measurement and is often not understood.

Either 24 or 16 inch wood should sell well.  Experience will tell you what the demand is.

Make your packages clean and attractive for those upscale fireplaces.  My father-in-law told about being at a lumberyard one time where they were cutting wood lath into short lengths.  Some rich dude was buying it for kindling  ::)
milking and logging and sawing and milking

beenthere

Timberwerks
Bro-Noble filled you in well with the cord question. If me, I would go with the 16" (a customer who wants 24" can use 16, but a customer who wants 16, can't use 24"). I cut 18" and get remarks a lot about my extra long wood  ::) , but I only cut to burn for myself.