iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

What is the Official Length of a Piece of Firewood?? Yes. I just asked that. :-)

Started by Here2Learn, May 09, 2020, 10:56:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Here2Learn

Hi. Thank you for looking. Yes! I am pretty new to all this. :-) I did try to use the search function.

What is the official or "standard" length for a piece of firewood? I might be trying to sell some firewood to help offset the cost of my new saw I got for tornado clean up. In the past, I just cut it to where it fit in "my" fireplace. That does not sound good enough if I try to sell some.

Thank you!

Brian_Rhoad

stavebuyer

Lots of custom requests but 16" wood was by far my biggest seller followed by 24"

Ianab

I don't think there is any official standard, just like there is no official standard for wood stove sizes. 

If someone has a little indoor wood burner that's only 12" wide, they don't want your 24" outdoor wood burner sized sticks. 

Locally it gets cut to about 12" as most folks have small indoor wood fires. Hey it might fit an 18" or even 24" stick, but you can throw 2 x 12" ones in there just as easy. 

What's your local market asking for? Or are there a few folks willing to pay a premium for 12" wood that no one else has and you can charge a bit more to make up for the extra handling. 
Weekend warrior, Peterson JP test pilot, Dolmar 7900 and Stihl MS310 saws and  the usual collection of power tools :)

Old Greenhorn

16" is pretty much the standard here. I cut mine 18". 
 A cord is 4'x4'x8'=128 cu/ft so whatever you use for 'official' calculations should be evenly divisible into those units. 3x16=48" so 16 would make for clean calculations with 3 stacks. With my 18's I only get 36' in 2 stacks, so I guesstimate if needed, but when my piles are full and squared up, I just measure the whole lot to make sure I hit my goal of 5 cord minimum.
 Hope this is helpful. Welcome aboard.
Tom Lindtveit, Woodsman Forest Products