iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Swaging

Started by lawnsbylane, February 06, 2014, 08:59:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lawnsbylane

I need so help on how to swage my circular saw mabey some videos or something. Ive heard of it just cant grasp the purpose of it thanks Lane

chopperdr47

I'm new to the whole thing too. My first attempt was somewhat successful until I made a heavy cut in a large cant. The blade walked some and I changed all the teeth anyway.

JEFF just posted a video on another thread "new teeth". Its not real clear but it gives the idea.

I found a good publication that explains the process fairly well. I'll find it and post it here.
If ya ain't got what ya need, use what ya got

chopperdr47

Ron Wenrich

Never under estimate the power of stupid people in large groups.

bandmiller2

I have been spoiled for many years having "friends in Fitchburg" and bits aplenty. I'am going to have to buckle down and start swaging if I want to keep my old Diston saw on line. Paid $.50 at a flea market for a new in the box swage, people have no idea what they are. Frank C.
A man armed with common sense is packing a big piece

chopperdr47

I'll double your money back on that swage and pay shipping. Keep it in mind if you need a little extra cash.

backwoods sawyer

Quote from: chopperdr47 on February 07, 2014, 07:52:21 AM
I'll double your money back on that swage and pay shipping. Keep it in mind if you need a little extra cash.
And when he sends it to you I will make you the same deal ;D

When i worked in the production mill we ran swage tooth bandsaws for many years before changing over to stelite. Most of the swaging was done automaticly on the sharpener, however the saw filers had a hand held one that they used on occation.

Anyone have one of those laying around?
Backwoods Custom Milling Inc.
100% portable. . Oregons largest portable sawmill service, serving all of Oregon, from our Backwoods to yours..sawing since 1991

bandmiller2