iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Hello from Nova Scotia

Started by Atlantic Trader, January 14, 2013, 07:46:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Atlantic Trader

I wanted to introduce myself and say thanks to all the posters i have really learned alot from the FF. I recently bought a small TJ skidder, and have been using it in a one man firewood business. It has been my first experience using a skidder and I love it.

I am a grad of the Maritime Forest Ranger School but have been out of the industry for over 20 years, doing other things. Just his past year I decided to get back into the woods at 45 years of age. That  was tough for the first few months but i feel great and love heading out to work with my 9 year old son helping out and just spending time with him and my yellow lab in the woodlots.

Here are a few pics of our machine.

Atlantic Trader

Atlantic Trader

beenthere

Nice rig there.

That machine gets logs for you. Then what?

Processor of some sort, or buck by hand and split ??
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

rvolek

Always nice to see the semi-retired TJ's still pulling logs!! Nice machine. What year and model is that?
74 Timberjack 230D
JD 450 Dozer
Husky 570, 372

Atlantic Trader

Beenthere
I hitch out full tree to the landing and buck and split onsite with hydraulic woodsplitter handload onto my ton truck then off to the customer.

I do have a conveyor that Iam going to marry up to my splitter so loading will be a little easier.

As it stands right know I can haul a cord of firewood out at a time to the  landing in good wood.

It takes me an hour to buck it to length, and a little over an hour to split it and throw it on the truck.

Atlantic Trader

Rvolek

Thanks it was definetly well cared for by the previous owner. It is a 1963? Model 200 H gas engine 172 Ford Industrial.