iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Spraying boards with borax solution

Started by steveklett, September 24, 2020, 11:00:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

steveklett

Hello,

Introduction: I'm very new to sawmilling with just under 50 hours on my WM LT35. I'm located in Southwest Washington. I primarily saw red alder, bigleaf maple, bitter cherry, douglas fir and western hemlock - all trees from my land. I am air drying indoors and plan to build a so-called "DH Kiln" in the coming weeks. I'm trying to get these logs sawn and dried for use in my house that is currently under construction. I have about 3-4 months to get the lumber ready.

Recently I sawed some 20-26" bigleaf maple (Acer macrophyllum) and while the slabs were attractive, there was evidence of insect damage. I don't mind the small insect holes, but I noticed after a couple days there was sawdust/poop outside the holes which told me the critters are still in there. I was told by a local sawyer that I should spray the boards with a borax solution. Just dissolve in water, load into the sprayer and coat the boards. He went on to suggest that I do this to ALL the boards I saw, from all trees as a preventative measure.

I did as suggested, sprayed all my maple slabs and hopefully that will protect them. I then sprayed 10 or so 5/4 red alder (Alnus rubra) boards I had just sawn. The next day they were orange/red!
Here are some pics of the results, my questions will follow the images. (that is temporary stickering - I build stacks MUCH more precise)

Here I used a block plane to get an idea how deep the borax penetrated