iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

drying eastern Larch

Started by Quebecnewf, April 14, 2011, 07:26:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Quebecnewf

I have been lucky enough this winter to cut 9 large eastern larch logs. I have dried some of this before in my solar kiln but with mixed results. It dries but I seem to have lots of twist and split. Some of the  larch logs I  sawed and dried before were not first quality so I know that was some of the reason (you can't make a silk purse from a sow's ear)

These logs are much better quality (less knots and bigger etc). MY questions are

Would I be better of sawing and then  air drying for a month or so and then into the Kiln?

or Sawing and putting into kiln right away

or
Sawing putting into kiln and taking steps to not let the temp too high for the first month or so.

I went a long way on Snowmobile to get these logs and I don't want to scrap the lumber.

Quebecnewf

KBforester

I'm no expert, I've only been sawing for a couple of months... almost all of it eastern larch though. From everything I've read, air drying is best... at least for the first 6 weeks or so? Maybe someone else can verify. So far I've had good results with my larch. The only serious warping I've seen are on a few logs that turned into potato chips right off the saw. I haven't sawing anything less than 1" thick, mostly 2X and bigger though.

Trees are good.

Quebecnewf

I was leaning that way as well but I'm not sure. Do your logs have many knots and how long are your lengths??

I am planing to saw a little thicker instead of 1" maybe 1 1/4" for example.

Maybe someone else can comment on this

Quebecnewf

KBforester

I using 8ft, 12ft, and 15ft logs. The 15 ft logs often have some big live knots, but most of the others have very few. I usually cut the ones with big knots into 6"x8"s.

The clearest stuff I have gets turned into 2x6 studs and decking

I think thicker is safer no matter what your making. But again, definitely not an expert.