iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Couple of Clark Ranger 667C questions

Started by Garrik, September 30, 2020, 01:44:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Garrik

I am new to these machines, and trying to figure a few things out.  Any help, or pointers to experts, or sources of parts, most welcome and appreciated.  This is a late 70's vintage 667C with a winch and a grapple.

The skidder is overheating.  I have checked the engine cooling system extensively, and am convinced that it works.  Among other things, I replaced the entire radiator core and both tanks.

In the mx manual, in the torque converter section, it says that if the machine overheats, "check for collapsed or ruptured hoses that might cause overheating."  But it does not specify which hoses to check, or have a diagram or anything like that.  I am guessing that there are hoses running to the radiator (that are supposed to carry transmission fluid to and from the radiator for cooling) - are they obvious?  Any hints which hoses to check, and/or where they are?  Or should I just start at the radiator and work backwards from there to the transmission/torque converter?

Another obvious thing to check, although not specified in the manual, is the "full flow 55 micron replacement element type filter assembly" that filters the transmission fluid used by the tranny, torque converter and winch.  The manual then goes on to use lots of scary language about always using the correct filter cartridge.  But it does not provide a part number for the filter (and neither does the parts manual, at least not that I can find).  Anyone know the part #, and/or have a source for a replacement filter cartridge?  It also does not specify the fluid to use if I want to flush the system.  Again, anyone have the proper reference for the fluid?

Thanks much!  Any other suggestions for things to check re: the overheating issue would be most appreciated.

Garrik