iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Bricks with a Brush- A inexpensive floor ! Try it !

Started by UNCLEBUCK, March 22, 2005, 01:24:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

UNCLEBUCK

Here is a cheap and effective way to brighten up a cement floor . I am doing this in my utility/laundry room and thought someone might give it a try . Its my first time doing this and its easy . Bought a video on ebay and it works for any kind of paint but I bought a gallon of heavy duty paint for cement . I didnt even use a guide ,just eyeballed it and a few crooked ones here and there make it look better.
UNCLEBUCK    bridge burner/bridge mender

Furby

Looks good! 8) 8) 8)

If I remember right, there should be a clear sealer you can put over it if you want.

UNCLEBUCK

Ok I will check that out.  Paint can says I can mix in a little dry sand for traction but I didnt. The video says bricks with a brush and he brushes the paint onto any size sponge one feels like using then presses that onto the cement but I just plop the sponge into a paint tray and slap it on the floor . Getting tired of building a house now so I been slapping stuff everywhere   ;D
UNCLEBUCK    bridge burner/bridge mender

Furby

:D :D :D :D :D :D
Can't blame ya a bit!  ;)
It sure will add some intrest to the floor as opposed to leaving it bare concrete.
The sealer is mostly for the exposed concrete between the "bricks" but will also help protect the paint a bit I belive.
Seen the sand in paint trick. It does work, but I have seen some applications that wore rather fast and didn't look to good.
Don't know if I would use it myself or not, maybe at an outside entry point that could be covered with a rug if it started to wear out.

iain

We had just sealed screed for a while one summer, kept the heat down, and i left all the stains from plastering and painting and sealed them to, i realy liked the effect, and Linda tolerated it till the new floor went down.