iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Furry Edges

Started by Kingmt, October 18, 2015, 11:28:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kingmt

I'm new at milling so I don't know if this is common/normal or not. I'm milling pine. I use dish soap & water as my lube. The pitch is staying pretty well cleaned off my new 4° Wood Maxx blade.

My wife asked why it was leaving the furry edge. I didn't have an answer for her. I've seen this on lumber before & also planned lumber I've sawed but I don't know what causes it. It doesn't bother me & doesn't hurt anything to build with it but I would like to be asked to give an answer other then maybe it is cold.
Sawmill=Harbor Freight Item#62366
Chainsaws=MS180CBE(14"), MS290(18"), MS038(20"), MS660(20" & 36")
Staff=1Wife & 5 Kids :)
Please excuse my typing. I don't do well at catching auto correct.

UpInATree

Furry on the exit side of the cut?  If so, this can be from feed speed too fast for the sharpness of the blade. 
Wood-mizer LT70HD D55 Wireless, Wood-Mizer ED-26, A whole bunch of Stihls. Alaskan Mill 74",  Bucket Truck, Log Truck, Chippers, trailers, dump trucks,   Kubota M9540, L3010D and B7510. Cord King.   Learning Timberframing under Jim Rogers

Kingmt

Yes on the exit side. I thought I was going really slow.

Ox

Happens a lot for me when sawing pine.  More so when the blade is duller.  Feed speeds don't seem to make much difference.  Some furry edge always seems to be there except around knots.  I just figure it's a pine thing.   :laugh:
K.I.S.S. - Keep It Simple Stupid
Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without
1989 GMC 3500 4x4 diesel dump and plow truck, 1964 Oliver 1600 Industrial with Parsons loader and backhoe, 1986 Zetor 5211, Cat's Claw sharpener, single tooth setter, homemade Linn Lumber 1900 style mill, old tools

bkaimwood